City adventure

So I suck at remember to take pictures these days. Not as great at it as I used to be. The other day my friend watched my son so the Mr. and I could go on a bike ride together. We did a whopping 35 miles and he took me around the city. I learned what I need to improve on while riding in Traffic but also learned some routes for riding. There is still more to discover but he wants me to get the courage to ride alone out there. This weekend may be my solo ride in the city. I’m nervous but how else am I going to get comfortable getting around to the great riding area without driving to them? We rode to the base of lemon then he showed me a route to ride to the national park here which has a great route for getting used to hills.

In other news, i’ve decided to start growing some of my own veggies. Being in the desert this will be an interesting challenge. The local food bank offers free classes and I had attended on in the past but I always felt I was to busy to actually attempt to garden. But January starts the winter planting season for lettuces and root vegetables. So I will am aiming to learn container gardening  and will start with carrots and spinach. I just need to find where i’m going to keep my pots. I may try potatoes in potato bags as well. We have bad pests and rodents here so i’m hoping this won’t be a devastating first try. I’m used to gardening up north where the ground is lush and the plants often get watered via Rain.

I’m also going to aim to cut down on using my dryer. I have a nice line for hanging laundry so i’m going to aim to be more conscious of using that. Trying to go a little more eco-friendly here. I already use natural cleaning products since I had my son. I clean with water/vinegar mixture. Sometimes vinegar/baking soda, lemon, and occasionaly I throw in some essential oils but I have a cat and a lot of essential oils aren’t cat friendly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

