Eating for your lifestyle

Rob has started a ‘diet’. Not your typical ‘omg I gotta lose weight’ kind of diet but a diet to best suite his lifestyle of endurance cycling. When I did the grocery shopping for the first weeks meal plan I was a wee bit thrown off at the grocery store. A few things I was unable to find due to limited selection but was able to get most of it. I guess I wasnt the most open minded about having to curb some of my meals to what was in the fridge but given a week it didnt take long for me adjust. A meal or 2 shared from his I kind of like what the plan’s got to offer. Although I make some mild adjustments to appeal to my tastebuds for example..plain yogurt, i’ve decided, is not good to me. And some of the meals are slightly plain so i’ve added butter and all good things flavored to my portions.

What is this plan your asking? Well its the Carmichael Trainign System. The plans are individual per amount of calories needed a day. The plans arent free so I wont be sharing them all but here’s 2 meals as examples of what the plan has to offer:

Breakfast Smoothie (606 Calories)-
8oz Fat Free Yogurt
1/4 C Skim Milk
1 Banana
1 C Sliced Strawberries
1/4 C dry old fashioned oatmeal
1/2 C fruit of choice
2 Tbsp Wheat Germ
2 Tbsp Ground Flax Seed

I can vouche that this is very yummy because im drinking it right now. If you prefer smooth smoothies then you may not like it with the germ, flax, and oats. But those are vital parts to the recipe.

Dinner:
Chicken Taco-
1 Whole wheat tortilla
2oz grilled Chicken
1/8 C each: Romaine lettuce, diced tomatoes, low fat shredded Cheese
1 Tbsp salsa

as a side for this dinner:
1 C steamed brown rice

snacks range from whole wheat pretzels, to fruit/cream cheese filled pita’s, to meat roll-ups.

The plan offers 9 weeks of meals, 6 meals a day, and typical do not repeat. Week one down and Rob says he’s noticed a change. I myself will probably try it more this next week but I can tell that even though these portions can be small they are filling and offer plenty of energy..hence all the carbs.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Eating for your lifestyle

  1. I have one of CC’s nutrition books (that I never did anything with) after two weeks what’s the verdict??

Leave a Reply

